The Elven Padawan – #8 – Tolkien Week 2017

 

In this episode recorded during Tolkien Week 2017, Shay and guest Max talk about – try to guess – that’s right, Tolkien! Finally getting to the “Erebor” part of “From Erebor to Echo Base”, Shay gives the history on Tolkien Week and Hobbit Day, then jumps into a discussion of Middle-earth, including The Silmarillion, books vs. movies, connections between Tolkien’s world and Christian theology, and more! (She even manages to sneak a Star Wars Rebels connection in there.)
Also, Shay has some updates for listeners on what’s going on with The Elven Padawan, as well as a brand-new intro for the podcast!
Quick note: please excuse the audio quality in Shay’s portions of this episode. Once again, ‘that glitch’ returned to plague her, but this should be the very last occurrence of that evil nasty.

New – follow on Twitter: https://twitter.com/ElvenPadawan. Please subscribe to the show on iTunes, GooglePlay, or SoundCloud and leave me a review! You can also follow this site, and get updates on every new post. If you have a question or comment to be read and answered on the show, send them to me at shay@elvenpadawan.com.

Shownotes:

A Creative Type: the blog of Kitten, artist who created my awesome new logo art!!

Star Wars: The Color of Hope: Shay’s very first article with Future of the Force!

Female Viking warrior gravesite – National Geographic (there’s a link in this article to the Norse saga that has a character who reminds me of Eowyn)

Star Wars Rebels on IMDb

Eat Your Way Through Lord of the Rings

 

Music/Sound effects:

Sound effects were from the Free Sound Project. 

Complete list of effects used for this episode:

3 thoughts on “The Elven Padawan – #8 – Tolkien Week 2017

  1. Rey says:

    I enjoyed learning more about Middle Earth in this podcast! I’m still so behind on all that, it’s a little overwhelming and hard to know where to start since pretty much EVERYTHING has a detailed history. I think it’s sad that Tolkien didn’t get to finish his story all the way. C.S Lewis didn’t either, with Susan’s story. I hope they are finishing them and we’ll get to read them in Heaven.(Ok that might sound a little silly, but I think there will be books in Heaven.) I can’t wait until the next episode!:D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shay says:

      I know, getting into the Tolkien fandom can feel really intimidating sometimes, especially at the beginning, because there’s just SO MUCH stuff there! But it’s a lot of fun once you really get started, because you know all that history and about the languages and cultures and geography and all these little details most people have no clue about. I’m still not nearly as well-educated in a lot of it as some people, but I’m still working on it! 😀
      And I don’t think that sounds silly at all, I hope the same thing!! 🙂
      I’m really glad you enjoyed it! I’m thinking about maybe going over everything we’ve learned so far from Forces of Destiny for my next episode… we’ll just have to see… 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

